River Readers

Categories
User
Tags
  • Pay Attention, Carter Jones

    The Butler entered Carter Jones's life on a really bad day. It was the first day of school and his mom was having a melt down. The jeep wouldn't start, the milk was bad and his little sisters were being "pains in the gluts". Suddenly the doorbell rang and as if by magic, the Butler appeared.

    Read More
  • The Lost Girl

    Iris and Lark Maguire are identical twins. On the outside, they look the same but on the inside they are very different. They are the perfect compliment to each other, one quiet and creative, the other practical and down to earth. Then disaster happened, for the first time ever, they would be in separated classes. how would they survive? Who would protect Lark from the school's number one bully? Iris ranted and reasoned. Lark pleaded. No one would listen. they pretended to listen. They pretended to understand but the fact was, they didn't. No one did.

    Read More
  • Shout

    Twenty years ago Laurie Halse Anderson’s felt driven by a voice in her head to write a book about a young girl who was raped just before she entered high school. This book was Speak. It sparked much controversy and many conversations about the trauma of rape and rape culture. Through the conversations with survivors after writing Speak and the #metoo movement, Halse Anderson again felt compelled to write Shout. It is a book of free verse poetry that tells the story of her life including the trauma of her rape at thirteen.

    Read More
  • Internment

    Layla Amin knew things weren't going to go well, when they had to put on the census that they were Muslim, essentially creating a registry. Soon, Muslims around the country were put on restrictions for jobs, curfews and more. It all came to a head when Layla and her family were arrested and taken to Mobius, the first internment camp for Muslims.

    Read More
  • Extraordinary Birds

    December thinks she is a bird. She knows one day her wings will sprout from the scar on her back and she will fly away. Until then she has to practice by eating seeds and jumping from trees. Her new foster mom Eleanor is different from the others. She doesn't make December eat other food and she lets her help with the birds at the bird sanctuary. December's mom left when she was little, but left December a book on birds and the story of December becoming a bird. As December settles in with Eleanor and makes friends at school, she has to face some truths about herself and her past. 

    Read More
  • How to Invent Everything: A Survival Guide for the Stranded Time Traveler

    As a time traveler from the future you hope your time machine doesn't break down (it will), but if it does you definitely need this handy guide on how to make things a bit more comfortable for you. This guide teaches you everything from inventing language to growing food to making computers. It was fascinating to learn how long it took humanity to invent things we take for granted. It was also interesting to learn the technology ladders required for certain things. Thankfully, this is written with a great deal of humor, especially the footnotes. You can't skip the footnotes!

    Read More
  • Before I Let You Go

    Before I Let You Go, the stunning new novel from Kelly Rimmer, the best-selling author of Me Without You, When I Lost You and The Secret Daughter, has a heartpounding dilemma at its centre: your sister or her baby. Who do you choose?

    Fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse and Diane Chamberlain will love Kelly Rimmer.

    Read More
  • A Step of Faith

    Following the #4 New York Times bestseller The Road to Grace, Richard Paul Evans's hero Alan Christoffersen faces a life-changing crisis on his journey to grace.
    After the death of his beloved wife, after the loss of his advertising business to his once-trusted partner, after bankruptcy forced him from his home, Alan Christoffersen is a broken man.

    Leaving everything he knows, he sets out on an extraordinary cross-country journey; with only the pack on his back, he is walking from Seattle to Key West - the end of the map.

    Read More
  • On The Come Up

    Bri wants to be a rapper. Growing up in Garden Heights, the daughter of the legendary underground rapper, Lawless, Bri has a lot to prove. Her daddy was murdered, a victim of gang violence, and her mama lost it after she lost him. Driven by her grief into drug addiction, Bri and her brother, Trey, lived with their grandparents for a time. Jay, Bri's mom, fought hard to win her kids back but the struggle is still real, they are all fighting just to exist. Then the other shoe drops and Jay gets fired from her job. Bri want her rapping to save them.

    Read More
  • Holy Ghost

    When the mayor of Wheatfield, Minnesota and his best friend cook up a plan to save their town in a way that won't hurt anyone, the town finds itself a pilgrimage site after an appearance of the Virgin Mary. Investigator Virgil Flowers is summoned to the town when people are shot and soon find two murders as well. He searches for a shooter that no one hears - along with a stolen shipment of Legos somewhere in the vicinity - he knows he will eventually find his suspect. But first, he needs to survive the bad pancakes and chicken pot pies.

    Read More
  • Night School

    Author Lee Child goes back into his character Jack Reacher's past to a time when he is sent to school. But of course, the assignment is not quite that simple. The government has brought together representatives of the military and intelligence communities because of an undercover source's report that an American is offering something for $100 million. What could be worth an offer of that size? Reacher and his best friend Sergeant Frances Neagley head to Germany as their best option, interviewing subjects and chasing leads.

    Read More
  • Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale

    Young Kano Murasaki's nickname is Risuko (Squirrel), earned by the strength of her climbing abilities. When the rich, elderly Lady Chiyome arrives at her village, Risuko is whisked away to be trained to be kunoichi, a term the girl doesn't understand. Put to work with other trainees in the kitchen at Lady Chiyome's remote compound, Risuko balances work with her desire to discover her purpose for being there.

    Read More
  • The Lost Girl

    Iris and Lark are identical twins whose differing personalities and styles fit together perfectly. Iris is practical, logical, and outspoken. Lark is a dreamer, artistic, and shy. Their inseparable status is threatened, however, when they are assigned to different fifth-grade classrooms. Iris is sure it's a mistake, but the girls' parents and principal are resolute that separating Iris and Lark will help them grow as individuals.

    Read More
  • Right as Rain

    Rain's family is reeling after the death of her older brother. Her mom tries to keep busy to forget the pain and initiates the family moving to a big city away from their past. Her dad is so depressed that he can hardly get out of bed. And Rain blames herself for her brother's death.

    The new neighborhood and school are a challenge because Rain is the only one with her skin color and she is afraid to open up to anyone about her family. Thru running and required community service, Rain realizes that she is not alone.

    Read More