River Readers

  • A Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

    While Felicity has escaped going to a finishing school she winds up working in a bakery with a sweet man who proposed to her - not what she wants to do with her life. She attempts to inveigle herself into her ex-best friends wedding, her old friend is marrying a scientist doctor and Felicity hopes to train under him. Sexism and piracy get in her way.

    I liked the depiction of Felicity being asexual not into romance, neither girls nor guys. While the dialogue wasn't quite as good as in the prequel, the novel was a good adventurous romp.

    Read More
  • Storm of Swords

    Here is the third volume in George R.R. Martin's magnificent cycle of novels that includes A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. Together, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, destined to stand as one of the great achievements of imaginative fiction.

    Read More
  • Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 2: Treasurehearts

    Our adventures are at the bottom of the world trying to find the Hall of Dreaming Treasures still pursued by the bounty hunter. They must each overcome something about themselves in order to survive. Afterwards they part ways, and Lu heads off for further adventures amongst elves and other dragons. It turns out she likes humans way too much for her own kind.

    Read More
  • Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw

    This is a fun fantasy series about a dragon adventurer Luvander who meets up with a dwarf and a prince with his bodyguard to find the legendary dragon treasure hoard. They are pursued by someone after Luvander deep underground where they discover the hoard isn't what they thought it was. 

    This is a fun series and I like that there are three female lead characters who are all very different. I am hoping we get more backstory on the characters, especially Luvander, in future volumes.

    Read More
  • Clash of Kings

    A comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. Two great leaders—Lord Eddard Stark and Robert Baratheon—who hold sway over an age of enforced peace are dead, victims of royal treachery. Now, from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

    Read More
  • Game of Thrones

    Here is the first volume in George R. R. Martin’s magnificent cycle of novels that includes A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Swords. As a whole, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill these pages and transport us to a world unlike any we have ever experienced. Already hailed as a classic, George R. R. Martin’s stunning series is destined to stand as one of the great achievements of imaginative fiction.


    Read More
  • The Tea Dragon Festival

    Rinn meets a real dragon in the woods while gathering supplies for her village. The dragon, Aedhan, was supposed to be the protector of the village but fell asleep for 80 years. Uncle Erik and his partner Hesekiel arrive to find what has caused the sleeping spell. The village is also preparing for the tea dragon festival. This is a story of friendship and community and it is lovely.

    Read More
  • Demigod Diaries

    It was fun to re-listen to this additional book in the Heroes of Olympus series. I had forgotten how funny Hermes snakes were and I am still intrigued by the story that was written by Haley, Rick's son. I think it would make an interesting series of stories.

    Read More
  • The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings #2)

    This was a fun sequel and I really wish there would be more. I loved how Felicity was fearless and resourceful. I would love to know what happens to Felicity and her two best friends. Females of much more substance than normal and full of force, humor and understanding. Making a life of their own, these three chart a path most men couldn't follow.

    Read More
  • Ogre Enchanted

    This was a fun story about wishes, dreams, and desires. Sometimes a person needs to live in another's shoes to truly understand the concept of love, devotion and true friendship. Evie thinks she has her life all mapped out until a fairy named Lucinda turns it upside down. Her best friend Wormy wants more than just being her test subject which results in Evie becoming an ogre with human feelings. It's a twisted tale to find true love, honest friendship, and a meaningful path in life. Along the way you will meet a wide variety of characters, some nice and some not so much.

    Read More
  • The Hidden Witch (Witch Boy #2)

    Aster and his family are adjusting to his unconventional talent for witchery; unlike the other boys in his family, he isn't a shapeshifter. He's taking classes with his grandmother and helping to keep an eye on his great-uncle whose corrupted magic wreaked havoc on the family.

    Meanwhile, Aster's friend from the non-magical part of town, Charlie, is having problems of her own -- a curse has tried to attach itself to her. She runs to Aster and escapes it, but now the friends must find the source of the curse before more people -- normal and magical alike -- get hurt.

    Read More
  • Ladycastle

    When the King and all the men of the castle die, it’s time for the women to knight up.

    When King Mancastle and his mighty vassals ride off on a crusade, the women left behind are not at all put out—that’s a lot less armor polishing to do. Of course, when the men get themselves eaten by a dragon and leave a curse that attracts monsters to the castle . . . well, the women take umbrage with that.

    Read More
  • Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

    This second book in the Montague Siblings duo is center on Felicity Montague. Felicity wants to become a doctor but in the 1700's it is almost unheard of for a woman to enter that field. Her desire to practice medicine overrides her common sense and she embarks on a journey filled with adventure, danger and even pirates.

    This book is just as delightful as the first book, A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue. I highly recommend them both.

    Read More
  • The Girl with the Dragon Heart

    Things have picked up since the events of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart. Adventurine is still making chocolate wonders and Silke is trying to promote the shop. She catches the eye of the Crown Princess Katrin, who would like her to become a spy in the palace. The royal elves of Elfenwald are coming for a visit after hiding underground for a hundred years and everyone is on edge. Silke agrees but with a hidden agenda. Her parents disappeared as they were fleeing through Elfenwald and she wants to know what happened to them. Of course things do not go according to plan.

    Read More