River Readers

Categories
User
Tags
  • Watch Us Rise

    Jasmine and Chelsea go to a progressive high school in New York City where they study social justice. They are growing tired of the hypocrisy and double standards they see within their school that is supposed to be a model of inclusivity and intersectionality. When the after school clubs they are required to be a part of tries to pigeon hole them into the stereotypes the school supposedly doesn't adhere to, the girls respond by forming their own club to promote feminism, equality and justice.

    I wanted to like this book. It just didn't work for me.

    Read More
  • This Promise of Change

    This Promise of Change is the story of Jo Ann Allen Boyce who was one of the Clinton 12 who fought for the right to be allowed to go to the same high school as the white students in Clinton, Tennessee. It takes place right after the Brown vs. The Board of Education decision by the Supreme Court. The school district made the decision to desegregate and follow the letter of the law. Things start with just a few minor protests but as word gets out and outsiders come in the protests grow and become violent. Jo Ann becomes the unwitting spokesperson of the students involved.

    Read More
  • The Prince and the Dressmaker

    This was a nice story. The illustrations were amazing and I really liked the dresses. Some would be quite fashionable even now. The dreams of a person can change with circumstances, but their basis is always the same. One must decide how much to give up to achieve them. Yourself or the dream. It's nice when you can get both.

    Read More
  • Heavy Vinyl, Vol. 1

    Being a child of the vinyl record age, I had to laugh at the idea of a fight club of girls. But now in today's arena, it would be much more of an idea. Who knows maybe I would have been intrigued to join this type of group back in the day.

    Read More
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved.

    Read More
  • Untouchable

    This was a good "ending" to the series. However, this book could be read as a stand-alone because Krentz is great at fleshing out her characters in each book. I liked the chemistry between Winter and Jack and Zane is even more warped than in the past. The fire theme is very strong in this story and while the ending is a little out there, it makes sense in the long run. I always enjoy her stories no matter which name she writes under and am looking forward to her next novel. This book makes you believe you're watching a movie with its details and would probably make a nice one!

    Read More
  • Nine Perfect Strangers

    This book is not a glowing review for health spas! It was a little long and drawn out, but Moriarty did give each character a detailed story with background and futures. Some were very pat and easy to figure out, others much more complex and worth investing your time in following. No surprise when there were a couple of new relationships that came out of their shared ten day experience. It is enjoyable in the end.

    Read More
  • Jane

    Jane Eyre was not one of my favorite stories, but I liked this updated graphic version of the story. When a small town girl dreams of New York and art school, she finds the big city and herself out of place. A job as a nanny leads to a romance with a man who is a member of the elite. She finds secrets and deceptions and has to decide who to trust.

    Read More
  • Real Friends

    This was a sweet book about a young girl and her life-long best friend. It goes through the changes that life and school brings to young lives and relationships. Figuring out how to be yourself while belonging to a group and how to stand up for yourself with people who claim to be your friend are just a couple of the issues faced in this delightful graphic.

    Read More
  • Between Shades of Gray

    Lina is just like any other fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl in 1941. She paints, she draws, she gets crushes on boys. Until one night when Soviet officers barge into her home, tearing her family from the comfortable life they've known. Separated from her father, forced onto a crowded and dirty train car, Lina, her mother, and her young brother slowly make their way north, crossing the Arctic Circle, to a work camp in the coldest reaches of Siberia. Here they are forced, under Stalin's orders, to dig for beets and fight for their lives under the cruelest of conditions.

    Read More
  • Salt to the Sea

    Winner, 2017 APA Audie Awards - Young Adult

    For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international best-selling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating - yet unknown - tragedies.

    Read More
  • Crazy Rich Asians

    Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.

    Read More
  • Josie and the Pussycats Vol. 2

    I didn't like this one as well as the first volume. I guess I'm not as in to the group being crime busters instead of singers. There was more info on the pasts of Valerie and Melody and the relationship between Alex and Alexandra. Who knows what comes next.

    Read More
  • The Great Alone

    For a family in crisis, the ultimate test of survival.

    Ernt Allbright, a former POW, comes home from the Vietnam war a changed and volatile man. When he loses yet another job, he makes an impulsive decision: he will move his family north, to Alaska, where they will live off the grid in America’s last true frontier.

    Read More
  • Merci Suarez Changes Gears

    Merci Suarez attends Seaward Pines Academy on scholarship. She may not have the fancy houses, cars or go on exotic vacations like the other students at her school but she has her family. Merci, her parents and brother live in one of three houses in a row. The others are occupied by her aunt and twin cousins and her grandparents. They all pitch in and help one another and have each other's backs. When Lolo, Merci's grandfather, starts acting strange and having a lot of mishaps, the family tries to avoid facing the truth.

    Read More