River Readers

Categories
User
Tags
  • An Ocean of Minutes

    At first blush, the premise of Lim's dystopian novel is a familiar one: a deadly flu pandemic sweeps across the world in the early 1980s. But the solution is inventive: people whose loved ones are sick can sign up to travel to the future and work as bonded servants for a company called TimeRaiser in exchange for the cure (also from the future) for their loved ones. This is Polly's only recourse when her boyfriend, Frank, falls ill in 1981. Polly signs up to travel to 1993, planning to reunite with Frank when she does.

    Read More
  • The Fiery Cross

    The eagerly awaited fifth volume in the award-winning series of historical novels takes place in 1771, and war is coming. Jamie Fraser's wife tells him so. Little as he wishes to, he must believe it, for hers is a gift of dreadful prophecy--a time-traveler's certain knowledge.

    5 stars! Still as good as the first in the series.

    Read More
  • The Serpent's Shadow (The Kane Chronicles #3)

    This is an almost satisfying conclusion to the Egyptian series. I would like to know how teenage life continues for the Kanes. The successfully juggle romance and life-and-death drama without breaking a nail, so I imagine high school will be a breeze. I like how they have to learn to rely on each other and that makes for a much stronger brother/sister relationship. Always a nice turn on those ancient myths that makes me wish magic was real.

    Read More
  • Outlining Your Novel Workbook: Step-by-step exercise for planning your best book

    Award-winning author K.M. Weiland’s previous book, the bestselling Outlining Your Novel, showed writers how to embrace outlines in a way that makes the writing process fun, inspiring, and easy.

    Now it’s time to put those lessons to use! Building upon the principles you’ve already learned, the Outlining Your Novel Workbook presents a guided approach to getting the bones of your story down on paper, identifying plot holes, and brainstorming exciting new possibilities.

    Read More
  • Outlining Your Novel: Map your way to success

    Writers often look upon outlines with fear and trembling. But when properly understood and correctly wielded, the outline is one of the most powerful weapons in a writer’s arsenal. Outlining Your Novel: Map Your Way to Success will:

    Help you choose the right type of outline for you
    Guide you in brainstorming plot ideas
    Aid you in discovering your characters
    Show you how to structure your scenes
    Explain how to format your finished outline
    Instruct you in how to use your outline
    Reveal the benefits:
    Ensures cohesion and balance

    Read More
  • The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles #2)

    More drama in the second book of the series. Hard to believe so much can happen to someone who hasn't even turned thirteen yet! Sadie's British wit is so much fun and Carter tries so hard to be the adult of the twosome. I think I would like my cat to become my guardian. Maybe I would find time to nap. I always laugh whenever the two dream and find themselves floating around with their heads on a chicken. Such an entertaining visual. It's easy to find the humor amid the drama.

    Read More
  • Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles #1)

    This was an enjoyable audio for our trip to Dallas. The story was intense and the voices were done by a male, as Carter, and female, as Sadie. This added to the fun since Sadie was raised British and has an accent. Since they each encounter a romantic crush, the brother-sister teasing and drama gets lots of laughs too. Trying to remember who is who in Egyptian gods and pharaohs was a challenge, but got easier.

    Read More
  • The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #2)

    I enjoyed listening to this book. It's been a while since I read it with my son and saw the movie (which I don't recommend), so I had forgotten a lot of the details. It is a fun story with lots of action, new and old characters that continues to lead the listener towards a temporary conclusion. Knowing there are three more books in this series helped me to focus on who was who since the cast keeps growing.

    Read More
  • Beauty Queens

    This audio-book was absolutely hilarious! I found myself laughing so hard I was scared I might run off the road. Having actually done one pageant in my life, I have a special understanding for many of the inside lines and worries these girls have. The fact that they get the chance to find out who they are outside of the rigors of pageant life and the dreams that may or may not have been theirs. There were true brains and lots of talent too spare even meeting up with pirates, black shirts, giant snakes and drug-like berries.

    Read More
  • To Kill a Kingdom

    This book was nothing like I expected. It was a different telling of the Sea Queen and sirens. Also the prince is a pirate and much happier that way. I found myself rooting for them to find the stone to destroy the evil queen and right many wrongs. I was pleased to find an ending that made sense and wasn't fairy-tale perfect either.

    Read More
  • Tiger Lily

    This was a very different take on the Peter Pan story. Tiger Lily was usually a minor character and here she gets her day in the sun. However, she also has a relationship with Tinkerbell that is very different from the one Peter and Tink are always shown having. This was sad, yet strangely satisfying too.

    Read More
  • Nemesis

    How do you catch a killer when you're the number one suspect?

    A man is caught on CCTV, shooting dead a cashier at a bank. Detective Harry Hole begins his investigation, but after dinner with an old flame wakes up with no memory of the past 12 hours. Then the girl is found dead in mysterious circumstances and he beings to receive threatening emails: is someone trying to frame him for her death?

    As Harry fights to clear his name, the bank robberies continue with unparalleled savagery.

    goodreads.com

    Read More
  • Spin: The Rumpelstiltskin Musical

    This was awesome! It was like a Broadway play on audiobook. Full cast, musical numbers, sound effects, and the narration of Jim Dale all in one fantastic book. It is basically the traditional story of Rumplestiltskin with just a bit extra. The actors are fantastic, the songs are hilarious and the entire productions was just a treat to listen to. I highly recommend this short audiobook.

    Pages are approximate as this is audio only.

    Read More
  • The Woman In The Window

    For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

    It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

    Read More
  • Oh Crap! Potty Training

    Jamie Glowacki—potty-training expert, Pied Piper of Poop, and author of the popular guide, Oh Crap! Potty Training—shares her proven 6-step plan to help you toilet train your preschooler quickly and successfully.

    Read More