River Readers

Categories
User
Tags
  • The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #2)

    I enjoyed listening to this book. It's been a while since I read it with my son and saw the movie (which I don't recommend), so I had forgotten a lot of the details. It is a fun story with lots of action, new and old characters that continues to lead the listener towards a temporary conclusion. Knowing there are three more books in this series helped me to focus on who was who since the cast keeps growing.

    Read More
  • Beauty Queens

    This audio-book was absolutely hilarious! I found myself laughing so hard I was scared I might run off the road. Having actually done one pageant in my life, I have a special understanding for many of the inside lines and worries these girls have. The fact that they get the chance to find out who they are outside of the rigors of pageant life and the dreams that may or may not have been theirs. There were true brains and lots of talent too spare even meeting up with pirates, black shirts, giant snakes and drug-like berries.

    Read More
  • To Kill a Kingdom

    This book was nothing like I expected. It was a different telling of the Sea Queen and sirens. Also the prince is a pirate and much happier that way. I found myself rooting for them to find the stone to destroy the evil queen and right many wrongs. I was pleased to find an ending that made sense and wasn't fairy-tale perfect either.

    Read More
  • Tiger Lily

    This was a very different take on the Peter Pan story. Tiger Lily was usually a minor character and here she gets her day in the sun. However, she also has a relationship with Tinkerbell that is very different from the one Peter and Tink are always shown having. This was sad, yet strangely satisfying too.

    Read More
  • Nemesis

    How do you catch a killer when you're the number one suspect?

    A man is caught on CCTV, shooting dead a cashier at a bank. Detective Harry Hole begins his investigation, but after dinner with an old flame wakes up with no memory of the past 12 hours. Then the girl is found dead in mysterious circumstances and he beings to receive threatening emails: is someone trying to frame him for her death?

    As Harry fights to clear his name, the bank robberies continue with unparalleled savagery.

    goodreads.com

    Read More
  • Spin: The Rumpelstiltskin Musical

    This was awesome! It was like a Broadway play on audiobook. Full cast, musical numbers, sound effects, and the narration of Jim Dale all in one fantastic book. It is basically the traditional story of Rumplestiltskin with just a bit extra. The actors are fantastic, the songs are hilarious and the entire productions was just a treat to listen to. I highly recommend this short audiobook.

    Pages are approximate as this is audio only.

    Read More
  • The Woman In The Window

    For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

    It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

    Read More
  • Oh Crap! Potty Training

    Jamie Glowacki—potty-training expert, Pied Piper of Poop, and author of the popular guide, Oh Crap! Potty Training—shares her proven 6-step plan to help you toilet train your preschooler quickly and successfully.

    Read More
  • The Great Alone

    Leni's dad was a violent man. Broken after serving in the Viet Nam War, Ernt Allbright was unsettled and constantly looking to find the ideal life for he and his family. When the opportunity came to move his family to the Alaskan frontier, Ernt leapt at the chance. unprepared and broke, the family left all they knew in the lower 48 and moved the wilderness of Alaska.

    Read More
  • Rasputin's Daughter

    A highly fictionalized version of Maria Rasputin, daughter of the "Mad Monk", Robert Alexander follows the last week of Rasputin's life through the eyes of his eldest daughter, Maria.

    Read More
  • Beartown

    So Beartown is supposed to be a story about hockey, but it is so much more than that. It is a story about a town and the people in that town and how they react to a tragedy. Beartown itself doesn't have a whole lot going for it. It is a town in the forest where people seem to leave more than they stay. But it is a hockey town and they have a great hockey team. The junior team is set to become champions and if they do the town will rise again. But on the eve of that rise the star of the team, Kevin, rapes the general manager's daughter Mya at a party.

    Read More
  • The Dollar Kids

    Lowen and his family apply to buy a house in Millville for $1. They are ready to move out of the city because Lowen's friend was recently killed in a shooting. When the family is accepted to the dollar program they are not all excited to move, but life in small town Millville quickly grows on the kids. 

    Read More
  • I Survived the Joplin Tornado, 2011

    This book tells the story of Dexter's survival of the Joplin tornado. Living in Missouri the Joplin tornado is something I am pretty familiar with. I remember seeing pictures of the destruction on the news. These stories are written so that kids can understand these terrible events as they experience them through the eyes of someone their own age. Are they the best written books? Not really, but kids love them. They are fast-paced and full of action. I actually enjoyed this story a bit more than I did the others I have read.

    Read More
  • Low, Vol. 4: Outer Aspects of Inner Attitudes

    Tajo has been rescued after the events of the last volume and is now back in Salus. She is trying to find Roln's daughter to stop her from blowing up the dome. Of course that doesn't work so she then has to convince the people to rise up against the Senate and take the dome to the stars. I like where this story is going, but I will admit that the art is not my favorite.

    Read More
  • Good Little Girls

    Tinsley Jensen survived the torturous clutches of an elusive masked killer dubbed the Skull, only to be held hostage by her nightmares. She’s terrified of leaving her cottage on Seahawk Island, knowing that the madman is still out there. FBI special agent Wyatt Camden knows it too. He may have rescued Tinsley, but her captor got away. Now he’s driven by guilt, the need for vengeance, and the desire to protect—at any cost—the woman he’s come to love.

    Read More