Mark Twain Award

Mark Twain Award Intro

This annual award honors one book selected by Missouri students in grades four through six.

For more information about the Mark Twain Award, please see the MASL Mark Twain page.

Mark Twain Readers Award 2018-2019

 

2019-20 Mark Twain Nominees

  • Cover image for Wishtree

    Wishtree

    "A red oak tree and a crow help their human neighbors work out their differences"--

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Walking with Miss Millie

    Walking with Miss Millie

    After moving with her mother and deaf brother to Grandma's small Georgia town in the 1960s, Alice copes with feelings of isolation by befrending the elderly black woman who lives next door.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street

    The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street

    When lights start flickering and temperatures suddenly drop, twelve-year-old Tessa Woodward, sensing her new house may be haunted, recruits some new friends to help her unravel the mystery of who or what is trying to communicate with her and why.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Losers Club

    The Losers Club

    Alec, a sixth-grade bookworm always in trouble for reading instead of listening and participating in class, starts a book club, solely to have a place to read, and discovers that real life, although messy, can be as exciting as the stories in his favorite books.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Saving Marty

    Saving Marty

    "When Lorenzo adopts a runt piglet destined for auction, an unexpected, life-changing friendship forms"--

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Restart

    Restart

    A boy who's been a bully and hanging out with the wrong friends gets a new start after a memory-loss-inducing accident. But can someone really change who he is, or will the old him merely come back over time?

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Real Friends

    Real Friends

    When best friends are not forever . . . Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, Adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in The Group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top . . . even if it means bullying others. Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon. Will she and Adrienne stay friends? Can she stand up for herself? And is she in The Group—or out?

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for One for Sorrow

    One for Sorrow

    Against the ominous backdrop of the influenza epidemic of 1918, Annie, a new girl at school, is claimed as best friend by Elsie, a classmate who is a tattletale, a liar, and a thief. Soon Annie makes other friends and finds herself joining them in teasing and tormenting Elsie. Elsie dies from influenza, but then she returns to reclaim Annie's friendship and punish all the girls who bullied her. Young readers who revel in spooky stories will relish this chilling tale of a girl haunted by a vengeful ghost.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Mustaches for Maddie

    Mustaches for Maddie

    Based on a true story. Twelve-year-old Maddie has a quirky sense of humor and loves making her classmates laugh by slapping on fake mustaches every chance she gets. Being funny gets her noticed by class queen Cassie, and things are looking up when Maddie is cast as Juliet in the school play. Maybe Juliet could wear a mustache? When Maddie starts tripping when she walks and her hand starts curling up at her side, her mom takes her to the doctor, who confirms Maddie has a brain tumor. In an instant, her world is turned upside down. Maddie doesn't want anyone else to know.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Joplin, Wishing

    Joplin, Wishing

    A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia, about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic. While cleaning out her reclusive grandfather’s house, Joplin discovers pieces of a broken platter in a cookie tin. After having the platter repaired, Joplin wishes that she could both find a friend at school, and befriend the girl pictured in the platter. The next day, Joplin befriends a boy named Barrett, and also notices a girl outside her apartment.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

    Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

    Aven Green was born without arms--so when her dad takes a job running a dying western theme park in Arizona, she knows she'll become the center of unwanted attention at her new school. But she bonds with Connor, a classmate with his own disability to conquer. Then they discover a room at the park that holds bigger secrets than Aven ever could have imagined. Can Aven face her fears, solve a mystery, and help her friend, too?

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Halfway Normal

    Halfway Normal

    Twelve-year-old cancer survivor Norah struggles to fit in at middle school after two years of treatment, but she finds her voice with the help of new friend Griffin, who shares her love of mythology.

    Read More. Edit

Mark Twain Award Winners

  • Cover image for Framed!

    Framed!

    In Washington, D.C., twelve-year-old Florian Bates, a consulting detective for the FBI, and his best friend Margaret help thwart the biggest art heist in United States history.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Lightning Thief, The (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

    The Lightning Thief

    Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can't seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse-Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Deep and Dark and Dangerous

    Deep and Dark and Dangerous

    While vacationing in Maine,12-year-old Ali meets Sissy, a kid who's mean spiteful. Sissy keeps talking about a girl named Teresa who drowned under mysterious circumstances and whose body was never found. At first Ali thinks Sissy's just trying to scare her, but soon she discovers the real reason why Sissy is so angry.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Sea of Monsters

    The Sea of Monsters

    When Camp Half-Blood, the only safe haven for demigods, comes close to being overrun by mythological monsters, Percy must find his best friend Grover, who is prisoner on an island in the Bermuda Triangle, and then set out to save the Camp.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Stolen Children

    Stolen Children

    When armed thugs crash into the house and take them away to a cabin in the woods, babysitter Amy realizes she and little Kendra have become pawns in a dangerous ransom plot and so must find a way for the two of them to escape safely before their captors make their next move.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Runaway Twin

    Runaway Twin

    Thirteen-year-old Sunny, accompanied by a stray dog, takes advantage of a windfall to travel from her Nebraska foster home to Enumclaw, Washington, to find the twin sister from whom she was separated at age three.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Unwanteds

    The Unwanteds

    In a society that purges thirteen-year-olds who are creative, identical twins Aaron and Alex are separated, one to attend University while the other, supposedly Eliminated, finds himself in a wondrous place where youths hone their abilities and learn magic.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Out of My Mind

    Out of My Mind

    “If there is one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it” (Denver Post). Melody is not like most people. She cannot walk or talk, but she has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She is smarter than most of the adults who try to diagnose her and smarter than her classmates in her integrated classroom—the very same classmates who dismiss her as mentally challenged, because she cannot tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by cerebral palsy.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Wonder

    Wonder

    Born with a facial deformity that initially prevented his attendance at public school, Auggie Pullman enters the fifth grade at Beecher Prep and struggles with the dynamics of being both new and different, in a sparsely written tale about acceptance and self-esteem.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for A Million Ways Home

    A Million Ways Home

    Moving in with a police detective's mother for protection after her grandmother suffers a stroke and she witnesses an armed robbery, young Poppy tries to manage her worries while navigating a strained new friendship and hatching a plan to save the life of a beautiful dog. By the author of A Smidgen of Sky. Simultaneous eBook.

    Read More. Edit