12. June 2012 · Comments Off · Categories: Courtney, Fiction, Mystery, Teen Books, Thriller/Suspense

Heist Socity by Ally Carter, 287 pages, read by Courtney, on 06/11/2012

Oh, what fun! Katarina has just gotten out of the family business and conned her way into an exclusive boarding school. She’s done with the whole crime scene. Until her father is framed for the theft of 5 rare and extremely expensive paintings from a bad guy, Arturo Taccone, who is “a whole different kind of bad”. The bad guy wants them back and is giving Kat’s family two weeks to hand them over. Problem is, Kat’s father didn’t steal the paintings; he was too busy stealing a statuette in Paris at the time. Kat now has to find a way to get the paintings back to Taccone before the deadline or her father’s life (and her own) may be on the line. It’s a good thing Kat has friends; talented, sneaky, first-class spy-type friends. She’s going to need them.
In the tradition of Kiki Strike and Ally Carter’s other series, the girl spy/thief motif is a heck of a lot of fun. I’ve never read the Gallagher Girls series, so I can’t comment on how this compares, but I do know that I will probably go out and read the rest of Carter’s books now, or, at least whenever I’m looking for something fun and refreshing to read. Just smart kids doing things the rest of us would only dream of. Witty and fast-paced, it’s no wonder this made the list of Truman Award Nominees. One of my favorites from the short-list this year.

Comments closed.