21. July 2014 · Write a comment · Categories: Humor, Tammy · Tags:

I am Pusheen the Cat by Claire Belton, read by Tammy, on 07/08/2014

pusheenHumorous collection of drawings of Pusheen the cat and pointers on day to day activities in the life of a cat. I first saw Pusheen on Facebook as an a collection of emoticon art you can add to private messages then saw the book.

21. July 2014 · Write a comment · Categories: Adult Books, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Tammy · Tags:

Longbourn by Jo Baker, read by Tammy, on 07/10/2014

longbournAnother great read for fans of Downton Abbey or Pride and Prejudice. If you like both then it’s really great! Longbourn is the home of the Bennett family. Mr and Mrs. Bennett and their five daughters all of an age to start looking for a husband. But Longbourn is also the home of Mr. and Mrs. Hill (butler and cook), Sarah a housemaid, Polly a housemaid and James the new footman.  The overall story line follows the same events as Pride and Prejudice but everything is told from the viewpoint of the servants. As well as writing the servants as complete characters with full lives of their own.

03. July 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Cats, Fiction, Tammy · Tags: , ,

Downton Tabby by Chris Kelly, read by Tammy, on 07/02/2014

For cat lovers who also like Downton Abbey. Some of the text is related just to cats but if you’ve watched the show you’ll get the inside fan jokes too. downton tabby

25. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fiction, Food, Mystery, Tammy · Tags:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanna Fluke, read by Tammy, on 06/25/2014

chocolate chipFirst book in a fun, light, cozy mystery series with recipes! Hannah Swensen keeps busy running The Cookie Jar, a bakery in the town of Lake Eden, Minnesota. Her life takes a sudden turn when the local dairy’s deliveryman is found murdered behind her bakery with her cookies scattered all around him, she decides she’d better find the killer herself. 

 

24. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Tammy · Tags: , ,

Skin Game by Jim Butcher, read by Tammy, on 06/22/2014

skin gameOur intrepid hero, Harry Dresden, wizard of the White Council, Winter Knight of Mab’s court and former private detective in Chicago returns for another adventure. Mab promises his services to one of Harry’s arch-enemies to fulfill a promise so Harry has no choice but to go along and help him with a heist. Not just any heist. A holy relic from the vault of an ancient god, of course. Butters, Murphy and Michael all feature prominently in this tale too.

 

24. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Short Stories, Tammy · Tags: ,

Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman, read by Tammy, on 06/23/2014

smoke and mirrorsA collection of magical, mystical short stories by a master of fantasy, Neil Gaiman. Explore a world hidden by smoke and darkness. Don’t plan on sleeping well right after reading this beautiful but haunting collection.

 

24. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Cats, Children's Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Tammy

The Familiars by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson, read by Tammy, on 06/20/2014

familiarsThe first book in a fun new children’s series. Aldwyn the cat runs into an alley to save his life and ends up ducking into an unusual pet store. All the animals in the store have magical abilities. They are called Familiars and the human companions are Loyals. Aldwyn decides to play along and pretend he has abilities to make a clean escape and is chosen by Jack, a young wizard.To keep up the ruse and have his meals provided, Aldwyn must convince the other familiars, a blue jay named Skylar and a tree frog named Gilbert that he is a powerful familiar too.

Then Jack and the other two young wizards in training are captured and the familiars set out to rescue them. Humor and a grand adventure ensue.

 

24. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Tammy · Tags:

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, read by Tammy, on 06/17/2014

neverwhereHave you ever wondered what’s beneath your city streets? Some cities have miles of tunnels and passages beneath them. Some built for maintenance others ruins of older buildings streets that have been built over with time.

In this story Richard Mayhew’s simple act of kindness sends him into a fantastical city beneath the city of London. A city of monsters, angels, and knights awaits him.

23. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Tammy · Tags:

Stardust by Neil Gamain, read by Tammy, on 06/12/2014

stardustA boy who is half mortal half/fairy leaves his Victorian-English village on a search for a fallen star. The star’s path leads him into a magical realm. The star turns out to be much more than just an ordinary star and leads him into adventures with unicorns, elf-lords and ships that can sail in the sky and many more fantastical adventures.

23. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: History, NonFiction, Tammy

City of Falling Angels by John Berendt, read by Tammy, on 06/09/2014

city of fallingBy the author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil comes another splendidly written history of a city and it’s people. Here he turns his skills to the story of Venice and explores it’s mystery and opulence. Using a cast of real characters he weaves an atmospheric tale centering around a fire that destroyed the historic opera house.

23. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Tammy, Teen Books

Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, read by Tammy, on 06/04/2014

beautifulThe final book in the Caster Chronicles. Find out how Ethan and Lena’s story ends and what has become of the town of Gatlin and Amma after Ethan’s great sacrifice in book three.

05. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Tammy · Tags:

MirrorMask by Neil Gamain, read by Tammy, on 06/05/2014

mirrormaskThis is one of those rare books that comes after the movie. Neil Gaiman wrote the screenplay for MirrorMask which was directed by Dave McKean. The book contains images from the film as well as original art by Dave McKean. This novella tells Helena’s story in her words.

Helena was raised in a family of circus performers so she’s used to things being a bit unusual. However, when an unusual tune draws her into a different realm her place is stolen by a runaway from this other world. To earn her way home, Helena must first rescue the realm. A visually stunning story.

05. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Award Winner, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Multicultural Fiction, Tammy, Teen Books

The Chosen by Chaim Potok , read by Tammy, on 06/03/2014

chosenA beautifully written story of two teenage Jewish boys who become friends even though they are from different Jewish traditions. The narrator, Reuven, is from a modern Orthodox Jewish family with an intellectual Zionist father. While Danny is an academically gifted son and heir to a Hasidic rebbe. Set in 1940s Brooklyn the two young men form a deep friendship that lasts into adulthood. They struggle through adolescence, family conflicts and crisis of faith during the Holocaust when the stories reach the U.S. together. The two fathers clash over intellectual and spiritual matters and of course have conflicts between themselves and their sons. Though the book explores religious differences between the two Jewish traditions the struggles reflect on issues we all face no matter what religion or family background.

 

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Tammy · Tags:

Signal to Noise by Neil Gaiman, read by Tammy, on 05/22/2014

signal to noiseA graphic novel that tries to express emotion through visuals of sound. What is the signal and what is just noise in our life? How do you tell the difference? What gives life purpose? What is a good life? All of these questions are addressed in this unique work. I recommend you read the introductions first that explain the growth of this work and it’s main story from a few pages in a magazine, to a radio play and back to a full-color graphic novel.

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Tammy · Tags:

Violent Cases by Neil Gaiman, read by Tammy, on 05/14/2014

violent casesGraphic novel telling one man’s memories of an event that happened in his childhood when he met a mafia leader.

 

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Horror, Tammy · Tags:

Harlequin Valentine by Neil Gaiman, read by Tammy, on 05/10/2014

harlequinHarlequin sets out to win the heart of his next valentine, but with Harlequin there’s always a trick. Also includes a brief history of Harlequin character.

 

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Autobiographies, Graphic Novel, Memoirs, NonFiction, Tammy

Marbles: Mania, Depression, Michelangelo, and Me by Ellen Forney , read by Tammy, on 05/21/2014

marblesCartoonist Ellen Forney tells her personal story of confronting that she is bi-polar the best way she knows… through comics and sketches. She openly shares about her struggles to accept the she is bi-polar and the difficulty of finding just the right blend of medication and therapy so she can still be creative.

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Graphic Novel, Paranormal, Tammy · Tags:

The Facts In The Case Of The Departure Of Miss Finch by Neil Gaiman, read by Tammy, on 05/24/2014

miss finchA spooky tale of three friends and a new acquaintance, Miss Finch attend a unique circus performance.

 

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Adult Books, Autobiographies, Graphic Book, Inspirational, NonFiction, Tammy

Cancer Vixen by Marisa Acocella Marchetto, read by Tammy, on 05/03/2014

cancer vixenOne woman’s personal story of learning she has cancer, fighting it and surviving while trying to still have a normal life and work and plan her wedding. Everyone’s experience with cancer is unique but if you’re looking for a book to let you know what a friend with breast cancer may be going through both physically and emotionally this book should be helpful.

 

01. June 2014 · Comments Off · Categories: Fairy Tales and Folklore, Fiction, Steam-punk, Tammy

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer, read by Tammy, on 05/11/2014

scarletContinues the story of Cinder and introduces the reader to Scarlet and Wolf. But is he a Big Bad Wolf or a hero in the making? How is Scarlet’s grandmother involved with the Luna princess and who kidnapped Grandma? Can’t wait to read the third book in the series!