Newbery and Caldecott Winners announced

The American Library Association has announced the 2011 Newbery and Caldecott winners.

Moon over manifest by Clare Vanderpool has won the Newbery Medal.

The 2011 Newbery Honor books are:

One crazy summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Turtle in paradise by Jennifer Holm

Heart of a samurai by Margi Preus

Dark emperor and other poems of the night by Joyce Sidman

A sick day for Amos McGee by Phillip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead has won the Caldecott Medal.

The 2011 Caldecott Honor books are:

Dave the potter: artist, poet, slave by Laban Carrick Hill, illustrated by Bryan Collier

Interrupting chicken by David Ezra Stein

For a full list of all the awards given, go to the ALA Awards web page.

Taxonomy upgrade extras: