Award Lists


The Children's Department has many award books. The Newbery and Caldecott winners are shelved separately from the other books. All other award winner are shelved with their appropriate category of books. The Newbery, Caldecott, Mark Twain, Show Me Readers and Building Block Award books are marked with stickers on the spines of the book to indicate their award.

Newbery Medal


Caldecott Medal

Mark Twain Award


Show Me Readers Award

Building Block Award


Other children's book awards:



Coretta Scott King Award


The Sibert Award

The Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children


The Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction