OSAGE COUNTY LIBRARY BOARD MEETING JANUARY 4, 2017 MINUTES OF THE MEETING

The Osage County Library Board meeting was called to order at 5:35 p.m. by Katrinka Goldberg, President. Betty Hagenhoff, Assistant Director was present to take the minutes.

1. MEMBERS PRESENT: Jane Dolan, Katrinka Goldberg, Jenny Jacobs, Neil Loethen, and Debbie Rowles. Also present were: Claudia Schoonover, Library Director; Betty Hagenhoff, Assistant Director: and Noelle Standard, Osage County Branch Manager.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Debbie Rowles asked to amend the minutes by taking her name out of the list of members present as she was not in attendance at that meeting. Jane Dolan moved to approve the minutes of the December7, 2016 meeting as amended. Neil Loethen seconded the motion. The motion passed.

4. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A: Potential Future Facility Expansion Discussion

Claudia and Betty reviewed the statistical and financial information for the Osage County Branch that was distributed to those present. Noelle detailed the reasons why more space is needed to provide excellent library services to the residents of Osage County.

The board after some discussion decided that both options (Leasing the former Family Dollar space next to Thriftway or leasing the upper floor of the building the library is currently in) are more expensive than we can afford at this time. The board would like to more towards owning their own space in the future.

Debbie Rowles made a motion to decline the lease offers for both spaces. Jenny Jacobs seconded the motion. The motion passesd.

5. NEW BUSINESS

A: Election of 2017 Officers

Debbie Rowles made a motion to approve the following slate of officers for 2017;

President – Katrinka Goldberg

Vice President – Jenny Jacobs

Secretary – Neil Loethen

Treasurer – Debbie Rowles.

Neil Loethen seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Debbie Rowles made a motion to approve Katrinka Goldberg and Jenny Jacobs as voting members on the Missouri River Regional Library Board and Debbie Rowles, Jane Dolan and Neil Loethen as alternate voting members on the Missouri River Regional Library Board. The motion passed.

9. ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

APPROVED 8/30/2017